Liveness 2020

The Jhalak Prize

Liveness 2020 (Archive)

Jhalak Prize shortlist showcase with interviews/readings by authors

The Jhalak Prize is the UK”s annual prize for a book by a writer of colour. The prize was co-founded by Dr Sunny Singh, Professor of Creative Writing and Inclusion in the Arts at London Metropolitan University and the novelist, journalist and screenwriter Nikesh Shukla. Now in its fourth year, the 2020 prize was won by Johny Pitts for Afropean, described by Booker Prize winner Bernardine Evaristo as ‘an important, groundbreaking book because it turns our gaze towards Europe’s black communities in unprecedented ways … a work that reframes Europe.’

The prize is unique in that it accepts entries published in the UK by writers of colour. These include (and are not limited to) fiction, non-fiction, short stories, graphic novels, poetry, children’s books, YA, teen and all other genres. The prize is also open to self-published writers.

JhalakPrize 2020 ceremony

Jhalak Prize on Twitter

More about the Jhalak Prize